Second but not last post

Blogging seemed such a nice thing to do. The right thing also. It should have helped me, like keeping thoughts and remarks together in a certain coherent structure thingy. But it instantly presented a new, bigger and far more essential problem to me: in which language do I write?

I’m not a native English speaker/writer. I’m Dutch. And although I am used to read, write, listen, speak and watch a lot in English spoken language, even finding myself often thinking in English, I feel somehow restricted with only a English blog. And restriction isn’t the thing i was looking for.

So here’s the plan. A new plan. I start another blog. In Dutch. That blog will be what I wanted this to be: a gathering place of all previous and coming thoughts. No restrictions. So some posts can be in English. Or German. Or Cat-language. Whatever seems fit.

And what about this blog? Well, we’ll have to see about that. Maybe it will become a gateway for certain kind of posts, like posts that are related to international discussions (on Clipmark f.i.), or topics that are shared by old and new friends around the world, people whose thoughts and comments I really appreciate, like Celine Roque, John Conners, Joel Spolsky, Marina Lacroix, and many others. It is a good thing to broaden your horizon, and being able to discuss things in a worldwide used language does help.

But first I need to put my old and new thoughts to digital paper, and this will only succeed if I can use Dutch language.

So please don’t think I’m out of here. I’m just reorienting, finding out my way in this domain. If the new blog is up, I’ll post the link here. It will be mostly written in Dutch, but also in English.

PS: Celine, Thank you for the advice. I’ll be in touch and please don’t hesitate to ask if any. I’m always happy to give to some feedback. You (anyone) can still use this blog for that matter.

4 Comments

  1. Celine Roque said,

    November 30, 2008 at 21:17

    While I’ll be sorry that I can’t read your Dutch blog, you should really do what your heart tells you and what you think is right for you.

    You know what, I’ll see if I can find a Dutch language pack for Rosetta Stone, and I’ll practice on you and your blog, how’s that? I love languages anyway and would love to add a new one I could learn. (After I finish my Spanish lessons, that is.)

  2. gioword said,

    November 30, 2008 at 21:47

    That sounds great! Thanks Celine, I appreciate that.

    And as I said, I’ll keep using this blog next to the new one, for good reasons. I want to learn the English language a bit more, so I can express all my thought the way I like. Besides that, I don’t want to quit you (aaawh) , not now, I mean, we haven’t had our first fight have we? ;-). LOL Just joking. I really enjoy the nice contact and good inspiration.

    But I think there won’t be much of a change, except maybe for the fact that some posts will be written in Dutch first (on the new blog) and maybe translated later in English. But mind you, Dutch isn’t an easy language to be translated by computers. Funny as hell, that’s for sure. 🙂

  3. August 27, 2009 at 02:30

    Love your versatility. I hope you let all your thoughts, words and ways of expression be free and as expressive as possible. You can tell you have A LOT to give and we all look forward to your many successes and thought provoking commentary.

    ConcretelyAmbiguous

  4. gioword said,

    August 27, 2009 at 03:06

    Well thank you CA, I’ll do my best not to disappoint you 🙂

    As you can see, I’m not an frequent poster to my own blog. I don’t mind that really. Most of my time online goes into reading and such, so that doesn’t leave much time to make elaborate writings. Yeah, maybe I should take some more time… we’ll see.

    I have deserted the whole idea of a seprate Dutch blog for now. Seems too much of a hassle to keep both updated.

    But thanks again for the nice comment. I’m glad it is being enjoyed by others.

    Cheers,
    Gio


Leave a Reply

